Japan Took the J.A.P. Out of Me by Lisa Fineberg Cook

Japan Took the J.A.P. Out of MeI was initially reluctant to read this book just from the title. I decided to take a chance with the book because I was under the impression that the basic theme of this memoir was “shallow fish out of water learns about a different culture.” What I ended up reading instead was, “woman fails to even try to understand the culture she’s submerged in, while making fool of herself.”If this book had been a novel instead of a memoir, I think I would not have been able to bull my way through it. The memoirist paints herself as the exact kind of person I find most annoying, arrogant, shallow and snobby.
Leave a comment

Filed under associated content, book review, Review: Book

Leave a Reply

