Book Review: Magic Lost, Trouble Found, by Lisa Shearin

Ace Fantasy
345 pp.

Magic Lost, Trouble Found (Raine Benares, Book 1)By rights, I should probably dislike this book. We have elves who are pretty much just humans with Vulcan ear caps, snappy and entirely too modern patter and Hollywood Backlot Fantasy Venice. It’s part “someone’s role playing campaign turned novel” and part “Garret P.I. Light.” I’d also say it had a lot in common with the Vlad Taltos novels, though Our Heroine of course does not engage in criminal activity, just her family. For some reason I was also strongly reminded of Eric Flint’s The Philosophical Strangler, though there isn’t actually a great deal in common between the books.  (There is of course nothing wrong with Garret P.I. or writing a novel based from a roleplaying campaign that was Just that Amazing. It wanders into “Argh, no, wait, stop,” territory when combined with Backlot Fantasy City and modern patter.)

Our Heroine is a young magic user named Raine Benares. She is employed as a kind of private detective referred to as a “seeker.” We open the book with her trying to keep a sometime employee out of trouble, an attempt that leads to her discovering a magical object with a very bad reputation. She also ends up in the middle of an immensely tense political situation that is impossible for her navigate out of thanks to the same magical object.

The story is entertaining, though I had some problems with the haphazard world building. The writer does make some effort at creating distinct cultures, but not nearly enough. The only distinctly non-human, non-European-pseudo-medieval culture is that of the goblins, and the goblins are cast as evil or at leastmorally alien to the predominantly pseudo-medieval-European elves and humans. Of course, the only way we can tell that the goblins are non-European-pseudo-medieval is that they have “shamans” instead of “mages” or “priests.” Of course, the writer wasn’t going for anything more in depth than a fun romantic adventure set in Backlot Fantasy Venice, so we can’t exactly expect much cultural detail even if politics and culture are a big part of the novel. (In other words, I should not complain because the brownies are not cheesecake.)

Some of the things I liked about the novel was the generally slow build of the relationship between Raine and Mychael. We do not go directly to a romantic relationship,as they don’t quite trust each other yet. (I was a bit annoyed to see the Possible Romantic Rival turn up however. One of these days I will read a book with a romance plot line where there will be NO TRIANGLE, there will just be the male and female protagonists, being buckets of amazing. Of course then, I would die of shock.) I also liked Raine, though I can tell she is heading for High Powered Heroine Land already. (Other books I’ve seen in this series do nothing to dispel my worries.)

2 Comments

Filed under fantasy, Lisa Shearin, non-earth, Review: Book

2 responses to “Book Review: Magic Lost, Trouble Found, by Lisa Shearin

  1. I noticed the elves by ears — how long did it take you to notice she was an elf — and mishmosh of world-building, but I think the humorous aspects managed to pull off the mix.I was also somewhat annoyed by the voice, which seemed a bit pedestrian. It might have worked without a hitch in other stories, but because it was a first-person, so that the voice was characterization, and comedy with a touch of noir atmosphere, both of which call for a touch of sparkle to the prose, I found it a little flat for this book. I mention this because the sequels, of course, are set in the same world, but the prose style improves.

  2. She does mention or imply that she's an elf, but it goes by so fast you can miss it. (Yay for cover art?) By the reading of the second book, it does get better, but I'm still dealing with, "you have not cracked a world history book since you were in high school, have you?" issues. It's funny, and I like it, but I'm also exasperated by it. But, given the choice between this and Saintcrow's "Steelflower" I prefer "Modern Urban Fantasy Patter in a Medieval Setting" to "I Wish I Were Fritz Leiber, and Had His Patter, Sadly I Am NOT and DO NOT."

Leave a Reply

