Oh gog, Homestuck

Okay. Homestuck. I was initially not very impressed even though the comic was highly recommended on several lists/blog rolls I watch. The story line is huge, the art didn’t really interest me at first, and I couldn’t get into it. But I kept hearing great things about Homestuck, and I kept seeing amazing fanart about it. So I kept trying to read it.

SIX TRIES. It took six tries before I was able to get through  more than three pages. Once I got started reading though, I couldn’t stop. I think what really sold me on watching though was the music and the animations. (Not so much the game bits, however. Those I didn’t much care for as they were fiddly and annoying. I am not the world’s best game player, and found those parts to be irritating as heck.)

I spent most of the week just mowing through the web site, then combing through TV Tropes and looking at fan works. Then I’d continue mowing through the site until I got to the most recent sections, occasionally coming up for air to go do something else that was important like eat or read something that wasn’t in crazy l33t sp34|< type. (I can’t stand the typing styles the troll kids use, and I can’t stand the colors, which are often unreadable against the back ground. The typing styles are annoying and frustrating to read because half the time I know I’m missing important dialog because I can’t decipher it.)

So, now I’m completely addicted to the web comic which I love despite my initial frustrations with trying to get into it. The plot goes something like this: Four kids who are friends get together to play a game. It is very apparent that these kids have extremely strange backgrounds and that their guardians are all some variety of bonkers. (Or the kids themselves are.) The game is a little like an adventure roleplaying game and a little like The Sims with the important additional detail that they are able to manipulate the real-world environment. This game is all fun and shenanigans but it’s clear pretty quickly that there is a huge problem.

Playing it will cause the world to end.

The objective of the game is not to restore the world. Even if this may seem like an objective.

The objective of the game is not to have good defeat evil or vice versa, even if that seems like an objective.

The objective is to create universes.

Of course, our four don’t find this out until the trolls who are trolling them before and during the game reveal that they created the universe that the four kids are from. The trolls are twelve kids from a warlike species with an entrenched caste system who had originally entered the game as two teams of six. Events of the game forced the group into one team, but the troll kids were unable to claim the prize because a boss character from the human kids session jumped to the troll kid session and wrecked it.

So, the troll kids have a pretty good reason to be annoyed with the human kids. So there is a great deal of conflict and shenanigans but it turns out that the troll kids start trying to help the human kids. (Though of course this creates tensions.) At the current point of the story (as of this post) several situations seem to be coming to a head, though we haven’t reached the climactic scene/moment yet.

Expect more gibbering about this web comic later.

Leave a comment

Filed under fantasy elements, Meta, science fiction, web comic

Leave a Reply

