GBE2 Blog On Prompt 71: Lunch Date

Have some fifteen minute fiction.

“So basically I find out that she does not actually remember the part where she was a horrible bully,” Carly said.

“Somehow I am not surprised at all, considering that is what I told you would happen,” Angie said, not looking up from the yarn she was savagely crocheting into submission. “People generally do not like remembering they were assholes, because everyone is the hero of their own story blah, blah, blah. So, other than discovering the Convenient Amnesia Effect, how did the lunch go?”

“Okay, I guess. She mostly talked about her family,” Carly said. “She has a little girl and an older boy, her husband is a lawyer, she’s a school counselor…”

“That sounds scary considering what you’ve told me,” Angie said.

“Yeah,” Carly said. “But I was good and did not do anything creepy like interrogate her, or rant at her.” Carly glanced sidelong at her friend. “Should I have?”

“I don’t know. Probably not, I mean, you can’t tell from one conversation whether someone’s turned over a new leaf or not, right. And even if she doesn’t remember the crap she pulled on you, that’s no reason to think she’d be a bad counselor.”

“Or a good one,” Carly said.

“Exactly.”

Leave a comment

Filed under fiction, GBE2, writing

Leave a Reply

