GBE2 Blog On Prompt 87: These Dreams…

This is for GBE2 Prompt 87: Fifteen Minute Freewrite

 So, the recent theme of my dreams lately seems to be tending toward the apocalyptic. That is to say, most of my dreams lately would not have been out of place on the big screen. Possibly I have been influenced with my current web comic obsession which is Homestuck (a web comic in which destruction and creation are an endless loop) and also with my current Reading project, which is Andre Norton’s Daybreak 2250 AD which is one of my favorite post-apocalyptic novels ever.

One of my more recent dreams involved an evacuation of a string of worlds connected by gates. As we went through the rocks would start falling. We got hung up in one of the worlds because the residents would not believe us about the Death from Above. I woke up still arguing.

Another dream was mostly about finding the basics of shelter and food, with some fun lectures because I was underprepared for the End of Everything. Then we had to fort up inside a mall. Fortunately, I hate the zombie genre so we did not have to face the forces of the undead. (I very seldom have dreams about ghosts or zombies for some reason. I am more likely to dream about various monsters.) It was all very Girl Who Owned a City except it was not stupid. (Yes, The Girl Who Owned a City was stupid. Okay for a kid’s novel, but very stupid because the writer only had one character with any agency and that…does not actually happen in real life, and shouldn’t happen in a novel.)

My dreams are occasionally very meta, by which I mean they are kind of a commentary about whatever it is that I am reading or watching. I have crossovers in my head between various media like the Aliens franchise with Buffy the Vampire Slayer for an example. Sometimes I am having deep conversations with various characters from books I am reading. Sometimes I remember my dreams very clearly. Other times I am aware that I had a dream but I am unable to remember details.

I should probably make a greater effort at recording my dreams, but so far the efforts have been very haphazard. The only problem with trying to record the dreams is that I a) never have my dream book nearby and b) I am never able to remember them on those occasions when I do have my dream book nearby. Other problems involve having to go fishing for my glasses and/or a light when I want to write them down, and generally feeling half dead whenever I wake up in the morning. Any suggestions about how I might remedy this would be extremely helpful!


486 words in fifteen minutes. I think this was a lot faster than the last time I did something like this. (At the moment I don’t know where it is, so I can’t compare or link it. I did some minor revision after the time was up, because I hadn’t been able to complete a thought.)

Leave a comment

Filed under GBE2

Leave a Reply

