Adventures in Bus Riding

I am going to starting work soon! I generally get around via the bus, but the bus system in the Phoenix Metro area was not really designed with actually being something useful for people who need to get to work early in the morning in mind. My shift is going to be 7:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, Sunday, Monday and Thursday. My destination an hour and forty minute commute by bus during a high traffic period of the morning.

I initially thought that at least the weekday bus schedule would be somewhat doable. I set an arrival time of before 7:00 a.m. to give me the most amount of time to get to work. Problem: the two buses arrive nearly simultaneously give or take a few minutes of being late/early. The nearest bus stop is on the far side of the intersection. This means I have to run to get to my second bus through a crosswalk that is usually “Don’t Walk.” (Fortunately, there are a handful of other people also trying to catch the bus who are also crossing when the sign says don’t walk, which seems to be an expected occurrence at that intersection.)

Then I arrive at the next intersection, and walk the rest of the way to work. I can make this walk in a reasonable amount of time; it’s just a little over a half mile. Problem: There is a freeway between my final destination and me. In the day, this shouldn’t be too much of a problem, but it promises to be a nightmare when it gets dark. I also can’t take a bus because there is no bus stop at the last intersection, in either direction.

The weekend schedule is going to be a nightmare on the weekend because the Saturday and Sunday schedule starts later and ends earlier. This means that the earliest bus is going to arrive an hour later at the same stop on Saturday and Sunday. I should however be able to make it back. I am kind of stuck for options at the moment about how to resolve the situation; I’m still hoping I can get a ride until I can pay for a taxi in the morning. (Or possibly, hopefully find someone I can carpool with. But to do either of those things I need money which I don’t have.) If I survive this situation, I think that next time I will try to get a night shift. (Anyone want to donate to the Help Rena Get to Work Fund?)

I think the next Examiner title I’m going to take is Phoenix Bus Schedule Whiner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

