Job Hunt update…

I’ve been making a few tentative stabs at continuing my job hunt. The warehouse job was a severe blow to my confidence, and I’m even more unsettled by my health problems than I was before. Getting started again is somewhat difficult because I am out of my prescriptions (specifically and anti-anxiety med and a anti-depressant med) and I have gone back to being listless, frustrated and completely blank. (It does not help my lung problems are making breathing difficult, I have an intermittent headache that nothing seems to help and I generally feel under the weather.) My “spoon” count is very low at this point, let’s put it that way.

On my way to my therapy appointment, I noticed that the bottom floor of the building had some kind of call center. Acting on impulse, I asked to fill out an application, which I did. I also gave them my resume. I failed to ask any questions about job openings/job titles. My only excuse is that I was being very impulsive and my thoughts were not entirely clear on what the heck I thought I was doing. Later in the day I received a phone call from the business. My contact said that the call center was doing appointment setting. Apparently, they were in fact looking for people to hire I was told to call them back, which I did and leave a phone number so I could be contacted, which I did.

It took me four or five tries before I could make a halfway decent, hopefully “call center quality” voice message. If I don’t get a call back, I will definitely be calling them back.

In other news, I have scheduled a number of appointments.

Thursday the 22nd, I’m going to be going to a workshop/orientation for a certification program that is apparently run by the local job center. On the 27th, I am going to be going to be talking to a financial counselor in order to qualify for a healthcare program. On the 29th, I’m going to be going to the social security office to see if I can qualify for disability or if there are any financial aid programs I can sign onto. The latter two appointments are going to require a huge amount of paperwork, much of which I do not actually have. One of the things on the list was a letter from my previous employer to prove I had a job at one point. I was not able to get this document because the temp agency does not give this information out unless they are given a specific form of some kind for it. I was extremely unhappy about this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Health Issues, Job Hunt Log

Leave a Reply

